Second Saturday Divorce Seminar Update: What Every Virginia Woman Needs to Know About Divorce
We have been teaching our Second Saturday seminars in Virginia for nearly 25 years (though, of course, it wasn’t me personally!), because we feel like it’s important to give women who are considering a divorce or separation the facts they need to make the decisions they have to start making.
The law is a tricky thing because it’s constantly changing. It also changes (sometimes dramatically) from state to state, so, even though most of us know someone who has been through a divorce before, that doesn’t mean that the information we’re getting from well meaning friends, family members, and co workers is really all that accurate. We saw so much confusion and misinformation that we felt like we had to do something to make sure that Virginia women had the tools at their disposal to make sure that they (and their families) were protected, no matter what happened to their marriages.
And it has certainly made a difference! I can’t tell you how many women have thanked us for giving them the information they needed about child support, spousal support, custody, visitation, property division, and how the divorce process works.
We’ve been teaching Second Saturday pretty much the same way for the past 24 or so years, but we decided to shake things up a bit lately. We felt like our format was good, but we wanted to change it a little bit so that our outline reflects the most commonly asked questions we get, both at our other Second Saturday seminars and in our initial consultations.
At Second Saturday, you’ll get answers to the questions that are keeping you lying awake at night, including:
• How do I get separated in Virginia?
• How can I make him move out? When can I change the locks?
• Will I have to move? Can I move out?
• What if one of us doesn’t want the divorce?
• What are the different types of divorce?
• What is a separation agreement?
• What can I ask for in my divorce?
• Will he get custody of my kids?
Instead of 3 hours (like the old seminar), each seminar will last 1.5 hours, and includes 30 minutes with a licensed local therapist, too! We’ve condensed the information into the most “need to know” stuff, with an emphasis on the questions we’ve been asked the most, so that you don’t get bogged down or overwhelmed with too much detail.
We still offer our Second Saturday seminars three times a month, on the Second Saturday of each month in both Virginia Beach and Newport News, and on the Third Tuesday of the month in Virginia Beach. For more information about upcoming seminar dates or to pre-register to attend (at a discounted rate), visit www.monthlydivorceseminars.com.
The cost to attend the seminar is $50 at the door, or $40 if you pre-register online ahead of time. Can’t afford to attend? We work closely with most local therapists, Fleet and Family centers, and domestic violence shelters. Have your therapist, case worker, or victim advocate give us a call, and we can likely arrange a fee waiver based on financial need.
Afraid to come alone? Bring a friend along for support for free! Hope to see you at the seminar!
Tag with: divorce seminar | new seminar format | Second Saturday | Virginia divorce | What Every Virginia Woman Needs to Know About Divorce